Bevan Ducasse’s curious and entrepreneurial mindset was evident at a young age when he kept a folder of ideas in his desk at high school.

Bevan completed his Financial Analysis studies at Stellenbosch University, thereafter joining UCS solutions as a junior consultant. He then went on to work as a business development manager at a mobile advertising firm.

At the age of 23, Bevan founded wiWallet, a mobile application allowing customers to pay with their phone by linking the app to any credit card. The wiWallet idea launched in 08/08/2008, however, Bevan and his team quickly learnt that they were competing with other mobile wallets and services for a piece of the competitive consumer app market and that retailers were reluctant to integrate to point solutions. At that stage he lead the pivot of the business to become an open platform provider, which aims to enable all mobile transaction apps at any retailers point of sale. 

Today, wiGroup’s platform is live in more than 65,000 till lanes across South Africa and Africa, and more than R5 billion worth of transaction value has been processed through the platform. wiGroup’s clients include two of the largest FMCG retailers, the two largest telcos and some of the largest application providers in SA. The business is also expanding into Southern Africa, Nigeria and the UK, and is poised to tackle other markets on the back of demonstrating real value in SA. 

Bevan and wiGroup’s recent awards include: 

  • Best Alternative Payments award at the Card and ePayments Africa Awards (2014) 
  • Bevan was accepted on to the global Endeavor entrepreneurship programme at the organisation’s 53rd International Selection Panel at Florianópolis, Brazil. He is one of only 29 high-impact entrepreneurs around the world to receive this honour in 2014.
  • Bevan chosen as the Maverick under 35 winner in Johannesburg (June 2014)
  • wiGroup recently won the inaugural PWC Vision to Reality awards program in South Africa, and the global leg of this program, Local to Global, in Luxembourg.

Back to speaker page

Previous Year Speaker